Steering committee

Convenor: Patrick Bernhagen

Patrick Bernhagen is Professor of Comparative Political Science at the University of Stuttgart (Germany). His main research interests are the political participation of citizens and firms, in particular their strategies and success in gaining political influence. He is the author of The Political Power of Business: Structure and Information in Public Policymaking (Routledge, 2007), and co-editor (with Christian Haerpfer, Ronald Inglehart and Christian Welzel) of Democratization (Oxford University Press, 2009).

Contact info: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and


Treasurer: Caelesta Braun

Caelesta Braun is associate professor of public administration at the Institute of Public Administration at Leiden University, The Netherlands. Her main research interests include the policy impact and political strategies of interest groups in multi-level governance systems and stakeholder management and enforcement capacity of regulatory authorities. Her publications appear in journals such as Governance, Public Administration, West European Politics, and the Journal of European Public Policy.

Contact info: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and


Secretary: Iskander De Bruycker

Iskander De Bruycker is a postdoctoral researcher and lecturer at the University of Antwerp. He works on an FWO-funded ( research project about public opinion and interest group influence in the EU. Before he was affiliated to the University of Amsterdam (UvA) as an ACCESS Europe postdoc. More broadly, Iskander's research activities lie in the fields of European public policy, political communication and  interest group politics. He has published on these topics in journals such as EJPR, JCMS, Party Politics, JEPP, Political Communication and Interest Groups & Advocacy. Iskander has taught classes on European integration theories, EU public affairs, interest group politics and research methods. He is a member of the steering committee of the ECPR standing group on interest groups and the Flemish Political Science Association.

Contact info: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and


Founding members

These scholars took the initiative to establish this ECPR standing group during a workshop organized at the University of Syracuse (USA) in 2008:

  • Andreas Duer, University College of Dublin
  • Arndt Wonka, University of Mannheim
  • Christine Mahoney, Syracuse University
  • David Coen, University College London
  • David Lowery, Leiden University
  • Dirk De Bièvre, University of Antwerp
  • Frank Baumgartner, Penn State University
  • Jan Beyers, University of Antwerp
  • Jeffrey Berry, Tufts University
  • Patrick Bernhagen, University of Aberdeen
  • Rainer Eising, Ruhr-Universitat Bochum
  • Rick Hall, University of Michigan
  • Sabine Saurugger, University of Grenoble
  • Tim LaPira, American University
  • William Maloney, University of Newcastle

© 2015-2017 ECPR - Standing Group on Interest Groups, University of Stuttgart. All rights reserved.